A Regular Monday Afternoon. Until the Traffic.

Missed the exit to the Thruway heading east. Too far north, I took the next turn to a residential road, and realized I was lost — until I stopped behind an SUV with New Jersey license plates at a red light.

There’s a reason for everything.

When the light turned green, the SUV took off, and I followed it to the Palisades south, then took the right exit. No longer lost, I was now in traffic. Eastbound. Could have been worse. Nothing compares to the Mix-master (below), which is a traffic nightmare. I got stuck on that years ago.

Yesterday was a piece of cake in comparison.

The I-35E and I-30 downtown Dallas Mix-master/Cliff Baise

The I-35E and I-30 downtown Dallas Mix-master/Cliff Baise

The backup began somewhere around Exit 12, and I figured it was people going home from work, or shopping. And then I saw a truck with yellow overhead blinking lights.

By now, the sea of vehicles was inching toward the bridge. Early evening. Eastbound. On a Monday. Something was wrong.

In the right lane, a gray car sat with its hood up, as the Tappan Zee Bridge Patrol stopped behind it.

Had a perfect view of the construction from my driver’s seat for at least half an hour. I thought of the four turnaround lanes on the new bridge. For emergencies. Like the one yesterday.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2014

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

