Another Project First; TZC’s 18-Month Marker

Juxtaposing LEGO® Build Club model of the New NY Bridge and photo of the Tappan Zee Bridge/© Janie Rosman 2014

Juxtaposing LEGO® Build Club model of the New NY Bridge and photo of the Tappan Zee Bridge/© Janie Rosman 2014

It was late afternoon at Tarrytown Third Friday, and the sun would not cooperate with me. Yet when I transferred the pictures, this one spoke to me. So maybe the sun was on my side after all: it cast a perfect light on both bridges in the window.

Last week marked 18 months since Tappan Zee Constructors, LLC (TZC) went on the clock. Stay tuned for more about the I Lift NY, due here soon. And remember the U.S. Coast Guard’s Regulated Navigation Area (RNA) and Safety Zone.

It also highlighted another project milestone:

“The first of two floating batch plants arrived on the project site this week, and has begun producing high-strength concrete for construction operations,” a July 18 press release told us.

“The floating plants will supply a majority of the new bridge’s concrete on the river, without the use of local roads. With reduced environmental impact and less project construction traffic on local roads, these state-of-the-art floating batch plants are crucial to the efficient construction of the New NY Bridge.”

Sign for Interchange 9 (I-287) of the Cross Westchester Expressway is © 2001, Jeff Saltzman. All rights reserved.

Sign for Interchange 9 (I-287) of the Cross Westchester Expressway is © 2001, Jeff Saltzman. All rights reserved.

Yesterday morning, I had an appointment in Nyack, and although I left on time, I hit traffic just after Exit 9 (last exit before bridge). Lane closures. After writing about them, how could I forget? I did.

Here are this week’s I-87/I-287 lane closures, and project updates. I’m going to Rockland again in late afternoon/early evening, and figure on westbound traffic.

Reminder: deadline for the 2014 Bridge Art Show is nine days from today. Paint, photograph and sculpt your interpretations of the bridge — new design or current.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2014

2 comments so far

  1. The Nothing Expert on

    Ah, the sun…it never cooperates with TZ commuters who leave Rockland in the am and return in the pm. We love it and hate it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • nykeypad on

      Last night as I was driving along Route 59 eastbound, I saw a gorgeous yellow-orange ball glowing in my rear-view mirror. Dazzling.

      Like


Leave a Reply

