Personal Reminiscing: Two Months Before the TZB

August 2004: mom and dad on the balcony at Woodstock Playhouse, happy to be with each other, smiling at the sun

August 2004: mom and dad on the balcony at Woodstock Playhouse, happy to be with each other, smiling at the sun

Ten years ago this summer, before dad’s first stroke, he and mom wanted to go to Woodstock. So off we went. I think mom reminded him of what they’d told us kids, that the Tappan Zee Bridge went into the water.

Today is five months.

The call came one minute after 9 a.m. (my digital clock is a few minutes fast). “I have bad news for you,” the voice said, identifying herself as a doctor. I got angry at her for what nana called a “lack of bedside manner” and silently cried.

* * * * *

My parents married less than eight weeks before the new bridge opened. Dad passed away 24 hours before the final transit task force meeting. He would have wanted me to do the next right thing, like he did. I went, paid attention, wrote my story, and cried privately. Dad may have been there, too, because more cake than I ate was missing from my plate. Dad loved cake.

Missing you very much/Photographer: mom or Spence or me

Missing you very much/Photographer: mom or Spence or me

Directions to Lake Placid — where they honeymooned — from New York and New Jersey begin with “Take the NY State Thruway (I-87) north . . .” The new bridge was to open in two months; the Taconic State Parkway was “it” back then, mom said. When my uncle’s company moved him to Albany in 1954, he packed up my aunt and their three-month-old daughter and headed north.

Nana and papa missed their first grandchild so every other weekend, mom said, she and her parents headed north. “My dad loved driving the Taconic to Albany,” she said. My parents both had lots of stories, wonderful stories, about their childhoods, and teenage years and growing up, then how they met. A couple in love forever.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2014

2 comments so far

  1. The Nothing Expert on

    This is a touching story, I believe there are many people out there who also can connect the bridge with the important people in their lives. I know I can.

    Liked by 1 person


Leave a Reply

