Can Two Monday Hours Be Any More Exciting?

It happened. It’s almost the norm for me now.  Oh, and the super crane is here. Additional photos at Twitter (nykeypad). It’s HUGE. Very colorful.

Massive crane has a 328-foot boom/© Janie Rosman 2014

Massive crane has a 328-foot boom/© Janie Rosman 2014

I got lost. Missed one street — a key ingredient for that happening — and drove until I could turn around. The lady whose car I flagged smiled when I told her I’m a reporter covering the bridge project, and the super crane was arriving today.

I Lift NY arriving at its destination/© Janie Rosman 2014

I Lift NY arriving at its destination/© Janie Rosman 2014

“It’s here? Today?” she asked and told me to follow her to the street I missed. Whoever you are, I thank you and appreciate your help this morning.

I Lift NY with TZB in the background/© Janie Rosman 2014

I Lift NY with TZB in the background/© Janie Rosman 2014

It’s important now more than ever for recreational boaters to learn and heed restrictions. Since August, six lighted channel markers guide them to and from the Piermont shore. Off-limits is the U.S. Coast Guard’s Safety Zone; heed the expanded Regulated Navigation Area (RNA). Safe boating, everyone.

Watch out for lane shifts and closures/© Janie Rosman 2014

Watch out for lane shifts and closures/© Janie Rosman 2014

The afternoon ended with traffic on the way to Westchester. Ah, the lane closures and familiar orange cones. Details are in the latest New NY Bridge press release.

Check out the Coast Guard’s weekly Local Notice to Mariners, excerpted and in its entirety, listed under Boater Safety Information on the New NY Bridge website. A LNM primer is here.

Read about main channel rules  in LNM/© Janie Rosman 2014

Read about main channel rules in LNM/© Janie Rosman 2014

Did I tell you today was exciting for me? I introduced myself to the governor, and we talked for one minute. Maybe two.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2014

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

