Musing After the Fact: What I Didn’t Say Earlier

Monday was about the bridge and the crane. Yesterday was deadline. Today I’m musing. A few people asked about the picture of Governor Cuomo and me shaking hands. Here’s what happened minutes earlier.

The friend I was with noticed him talking with people one-on-one. I did, too, and waited for my chance. You know how, when you think of meeting someone important in business or government, or the arts or science, you figure it’d be at a meeting or presentation?

No one stopped me. Was anyone supposed to?/Phil Little

No one stopped me. Was anyone supposed to?/Phil Little

This was very low-key. No one with an ear wire or ID badge waved me away. I’d been approved at the checkpoints and was standing on a boat in the wind after the I Lift NY super crane arrived.

I introduced myself. Maybe he wondered what I was going to say. We talked for a minute or two. It was an honor. He was easy to speak with, and after telling him my news outlets, I thanked him for the opportunity to cover the event.

One point, governor, if I may, about renaming the crane:

I believe my January 15 blog post about comments made by one West Coast reporter had something to do with the Left Coast Lifter being dubbed I Lift NY. That very day.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2014

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

