Keeping Up with the Speed Limit

Now that excitement about the I Lift NY‘s arrival and Governor Cuomo’s visit last week calmed a bit, people want to know where to get the best possible photos of the massive crane moored near Pierson Park in Tarrytown.

At that very location is a viewing area with two monoculars, each with an adjustable lens so you can check out what’s doing in the river.

Bird's-eye view of the I Lift NY super crane/NNYB Outreach

Bird’s-eye view of the I Lift NY super crane/NNYB Outreach

Yesterday mom and I drove to Rockland, and we got caught in the now-expected traffic caused by lane switches. I pointed out the super crane to mom, who said (and I quote), “It looks like part of a family there in the water.”

On the way back to Westchester is a stretch of highway that declines a bit, then curves toward the Rockland approach. It’s here that you have a clear view of the red, white and blue crane with yellow hooks, and other equipment. Mom looked, then asked where the Quay (where one of her friends lives) was.

I said it’s near the toll plaza, then pointed as soon as it was within vision. “Oh,” she said. “It’s very close to the bridge. I wonder if (friend) will sell her condo.” It will be closer, mom, when the shared use path is done.

"The driver in me honors and respects the driver in you," so please keep pace with the other cars/recycledartco

“The driver in me honors and respects the driver in you,” so please keep pace with the other cars/recycledartco

I’ve been checking license plates and speed of cars every time I cross the bridge and made an unscientific observation after at least 20 trips to Rockland and back: Cars with out-of-state license plates drive at half the speed limit and leave more room in front of them than trucks driving on the incline.

I’m not talking tri-state area.

Can’t be that the drivers are looking at the river activity since most times, the slow cars are in the middle and left lanes. I have another theory.

Remember when President Obama came to Tarrytown last May?  “At times you can see the river through the cracks of the pavement. Now, I’m not an engineer, but I figure that’s not good,” he said.

He scared them. Mr. President, the Thruway Authority spent three-quarters of a million dollars on a deck replacement project.

Granted, the seams are annoying, and there’s a lot going on in the water. Maybe you are looking for a crack in the pavement. Remember, we’re driving across the bridge, too, and we heard what the president said.

So welcome to New York State, however long your stay, and please, keep up with the speed limit.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2014

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

