Update on the Viewing Area

Since no one bid on the benches this time around, Tarrytown Village Administrator Mike Blau said, the village is determining whether he needs to bid again or negotiate with one vendor.

Crane clears the Tappan Zee Bridge/© Janie Rosman 2014

Crane clears the Tappan Zee Bridge/© Janie Rosman 2014

Last Wednesday night I watched the I Lift NY crane pass under the bridge and travel to near the viewing area. I emailed Blau and told him some kids were there with a parent; one kid was sitting on the stone wall, and another was twirling the monocular around. I thought, “That’s dangerous,” and wondered if it could be tightened or have limited mobility.

I also suggested a “Do Not Sit on Wall” sign.

He said the village is also looking at whether it can install a device to stop the monoculars from going all the way around, and thanked me for telling him.

Doing my part. Safety first, both in the river and on land.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2014

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

