From the “Now I Know for Next Time” Dept.

Bet I’m the only one who called the school and project officials to find out if Wednesday’s outreach presentation would be called due to weather. No siree.

Special project advisor Brian Conybeare recapped the project to date, pointing to the two floating concrete batch plants, and the first two pier towers of the new bridge. We saw the piles and the super crane that did look closer than it was.

Getting ready for its assignments/© Janie Rosman 2014

Getting ready for its assignments/© Janie Rosman 2014

And as I listened him, and to ARUP Senior Infrastructure Manager Martha Gross, I felt my teeth chattering and hoped it wasn’t noticed. At least not as much as my knocking knees. Good thing they weren’t picked up by the tape recorder.

In addition to hearing a fantastic presentation that reinforced what I’ve heard and observed — and provided new insight — about the project, I also learned:

• It’s best to bring a small umbrella if planning to be in close proximity to other people. Mine covered me, and it also got in the way of pictures. Except one.

Guess where I am in this picture/New NY Bridge Outreach

Guess where I am in this picture/New NY Bridge Outreach

• Wear gloves. Pockets are good if they can be used. I needed to hold the umbrella and camera so one hand was cold at all times. They took turns.

• Do not put a tape recorder into a pocket while it’s recording unless whooshing is a desired sound effect.

OK, I’m a wuss in cold weather. However, I’d do this again in a minute and thank project officials, the Outreach Team, and the Sleepy Hollow High School Engineering Club for inviting me.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2014

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

