Grateful for Trucks on the Road that Night

Wind shaking an EarthCam® construction camera yesterday morning (main span view)

Wind shaking an EarthCam® construction camera yesterday morning (main span view)

Several winters ago I covered school board meetings in one of the Rivertowns. I usually took local roads west to Route 9 (Broadway), made a right turn and drove north to the school. One night after a meeting we walked back to find our cars covered in snow falling faster than I could count snowflakes. I was scared.

The car I’ve been driving for more than 16 years has seen me safely through both snowstorms and rainstorms (the kind where you put the windshield wipers on the fastest speed because the rain is coming down so fast that the regular speed isn’t fast enough).

Dad told me never to start the car and then get out to clean the windows because gosh forbid it shifts into gear. So after I cleared the windows, and did them again because it was snowing so hard, I started the car and turned on the wipers and the defroster.

As the car was warming up I was figuring out the safest way to drive home. And that very night I hoped there were lots of trucks on the highway.

Trucking through a snowstorm on the Tappan Zee Bridge (not the same day) /© Wn.com

Trucking through a snowstorm on the Tappan Zee Bridge (not the same day) /© Wn.com

If you know where Irvington is, then you know it’s nowhere near the interstate. Driving home on the same local road with its hills, hidden turns and sporadic lighting, although most direct, would be asking for trouble in that treacherous weather.

Instead, I headed north on Route 9 (Broadway) to Tarrytown and turned onto the Thruway, which fed into I-287. And I wasn’t disappointed! Plenty of trucks on the road that night to make tire indentations in the snow for drivers like me who had no business driving that night. Except for that school board meeting.

Got home safely. Forget that I was gripping the wheel and praying.

* * * * *

Yesterday I went to Rockland. It was windy when I left mid-afternoon, and I felt the car move when it gusted. Not only was it windy on the highway, it was windy on the bridge. Unlike a friend who drives on the inside lane, I drive on the outside lane westbound to see what’s doing in the river.

It was windy. Very windy. Go-fly-a-kite windy.

Right past the main span is a stretch of highway that declines a bit, offering a clear view of the project site near the Rockland shore. Eastbound is another stretch of road that declines a bit, then curves toward the Rockland approach, offering a better view of the project site.

Driving eastbound on the inside lane to better see the project site/© Janie Rosman 2014

Driving eastbound on the inside lane to better see the project site/© Janie Rosman 2014

Besides storms, my car has taken more than a few detours (translated: I got lost). The funniest was visiting a friend some years ago and calling him from across the divided road, asking him where he lives. He opened the door to his house, waved to me and said “Right here” into his cell phone. You had to be there.

There’s still lots of getting lost to do.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2015

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

