If a Correction is in Order, Then Please Tell Me

Tuesday grew busier as it unfolded.

Mom and I were doing errands and talking about how the warmer weather felt good. I had a deadline to meet, and when my cell phone rang, I reached into my pocket, juggling groceries with my other arm.

South Nyack Mayor Bonnie Christian told me I misquoted her and wanted to clarify what she said. That is the right thing to do: tell me I’m wrong so I can correct the matter.

I apologized and said I’d correct it. Everyone deserves to be quoted accurately.

Christian said I misquoted her many times in the past; this call referenced a blog post from December, and another, where I asked, What is so secret about a meeting date?

Amid tension within the village during the last few months, I asked for a record of task force meeting dates and why the group didn’t take minutes, even when the request came from village residents.

It reports to the village trustees and records no minutes, one member said, because it’s not a government body.

In November I spoke with several people, including member Connie Coker, who agreed residents could have been better informed about the task force. “And we should have been more vigilant so residents know they’re being benefitted, and that we’re not operating behind closed doors.”

Christian provided a chronology of events in a December update.

I stand by what I write, and if and when I am wrong, then please tell me so I can make the correction or tell my editor.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2015

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

