Two Months Later: Batch Plant Update

concreteThere’s a portable concrete batch plant available for a few more hours on eBay. How do I know? I added it to my Watch List two months ago when I first wrote about shopping online and waited for a reply from Tappan Zee Constructors, LLC (TZC) spokeswoman Carla Julian.

TZC President Darrell Waters issued a statement several days after the December 16 accident.

“We are in the process of determining exactly what happened and why,” Waters said. The investigation is expected to take several weeks, he said, at which time the public will be informed.

As the investigation, and the project, continue, “Safety and environmental stewardship are our top priorities,” he said.

Waters emphasized, “If or when an incident occurs, no matter what the size, we will always use it as an opportunity to review and reassess our safety procedures and operations specific to the project.”

I asked Julian on January 20 for an update and was told TZC will have an update in the upcoming weeks as it finalizes its investigation, and I will receive it when TZC issues it.

One month later (February 16) I again requested an update. Julian told me when she issues the next update, then I will receive it. I asked when. No reply.

This week, however, I learned from another news outlet that the team would soon issue an update. Is Julian selectively dispersing information?

Back to the batch plant for sale.

Several people are watching the one with few sale hours remaining; it’s available only to local pick-ups. Interestingly, last week I received an email from one company I wrote about in December, reminding me one of its mobile machines is ready for shipment at a special price.

I’ll pass. Julian did say she’d issue an update, right?

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2015

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

