Now You See Me . . . And Now You Don’t

Do you see my car in this 3:30 p.m. photo?/Westchester EarthCam® construction camera

Do you see my car in this 3:30 p.m. photo?/Westchester EarthCam® construction camera

Something told me not to say anything. I did, and then it was too late.

Loving advice followed after I told mom I’m driving to Rockland this afternoon. It had started to snow, gently, and the area where grass would be was covered with a sprinkling of powdered sugar-looking flakes.

“It’s OK, mom, I’ll be OK.” I said it for both of us. “Don’t worry. I’ll call you when I get home.”

Once on 287 I kept telling myself to exit and turn around as I drove toward the bridge. Visibility was poor from a combination of snow falling from car roofs — it’s a good idea to clean the car roof to avoid snow hitting the windshield of the driver behind you — fog, exhaust from cars and 18-wheelers and falling snow. The driver safety course I took advised against driving in weather like this.

* * * * *

Driving back from Rockland at 4 p.m./Upper Grandview EarthCam® construction camera

Driving back from Rockland at 4 p.m./Upper Grandview EarthCam® construction camera

Within half an hour I was back on the highway driving to Westchester. This time my concern was potholes and drivers at the toll plaza. I stayed in the right lane to exit at Tarrytown.

I called mom twice again before I got home. She didn’t ask about the weather; by then the snow was lighter. It was deceiving because it was falling fast: I made two stops, and each time I came back to car, maybe 15 or 20 minutes later, I had to clear the windows and roof again.

* * * * *

You can hear quiet outside when it snows. Some joke for the first day of spring!

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2015

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

