Spring: Time for a New Denim Jacket – Or Not

denimColored thread hides holes in the elbows, shoulders and collar. It’s time to replace my denim jacket.

I’ve looked for a new one; nothing I’d want to wear beyond one day caught my eye. Then I saw a jacket I liked while shopping for something else. Seventy-five dollars, the salesperson said without blinking. For denim? Not a brand name. Denim.

Years ago I was an editorial assistant at IBM in White Plains, formatting product announcement letters for distribution to four geographies worldwide.

Marilyn and Ann lived in Poughkeepsie and worked in my department, and we became friends. One summer Saturday I met them for lunch in Fishkill, and while browsing stores, we passed a consignment shop and went inside. A denim jacket caught my eye. I started talking with the store owner, who told me she and her husband had just moved their store from Yonkers.

I gave her the requested $9 and walked out wearing the jacket, sleeves rolled up once because they were too long. It’s a men’s jacket and buttons left over right. I wore it and wore it and washed it and wore it. Two-and-a-half years ago I sewed most of the holes caused by wear with colored thread. Last year I cut the sleeves (beyond wear) and rolled up the cuffs again.

It has pockets for my cell phone and ID when I don’t want to carry a shoulder bag. It’s crossed the Brooklyn Bridge many times, hiked the trails of Dutchess County, stood on the gazebo in Cold Spring watching the sunset, walked around the Upper East Side, Upper West Side, Greenwich Village, Greenwich (Connecticut), and a whole host of other places.

I’ll replace it one day. Not today.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2015

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

