An Hour in Tarrytown, Three Years of Thoughts

craneI drove slower than usual today on Benedict Avenue so I wouldn’t miss the spot. A few weeks ago I was on the way to an early-morning meeting and realized I drove past it after I did. A snowy backdrop accented the crane’s colors, a picture perfect shot missed.

The wind kicked up as I opened the door of my car and walked toward the viewing area. I’d put on a ski jacket; it was the right decision for the cold air an hour later.

at viewing areaA little girl on a kick scooter made her way to the monocular and pointed it at the crane. Her dad walked over and pointed the lens away from the river to the buildings in the distance. “Can you see our house?” she asked him.

The bridge looked familiar with less equipment around it, almost like it did last summer. I tried to imagine the new bridge in its place.

TZBAt 87 feet wide, the bridge’s seven lanes are 11 feet wide each, 10-1/2 feet wide in some spaces. The zipper installed back in 1993 to move the concrete divider — adding a southbound lane in the mornings and a northbound lane in the evenings — will no longer be needed.

Each of the bridge’s eight general traffic lanes meets the new federal highway standard of 12 feet wide (96 feet total width) with a shoulder for breakdowns and a double-wide shoulder of 25 feet for emergency access and space for a bus lane.

lanesBoth spans will be built simultaneously; in late 2016 or early 2017 traffic will shift off the old bridge onto the new northern span of eight 12-foot-wide lanes and a divider for safety.

I was introduced to the Tappan Zee Hudson River Crossing Project three years ago when I covered a meeting at The Quay in Tarrytown. It stays in my mind as do snippets of the meetings I covered since then. Three years went by so quickly!

Last week I attended a presentation (more about this in a later post) that covered the project from planning to present to when the bridge builder starts to demolish the Tappan Zee Bridge.

vertical piersIts concrete deck panel will be saved and lifted whole by the crane to be used in other projects by the state. The I Lift NY will then tear down the landings, the pre-built southern span will be connected where it sits, and traffic will be split between the two spans.

Whenever I’m feeling moody I drive to the river. There’s something calming and magical about the water even, no, especially, on a windy April late afternoon.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2015

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

