What Was Today’s Cause for Rubbernecking? . . . Southbound Lane Closures Begin in One Hour

Let’s play a game. I was talking to myself as I drove back from Rockland this afternoon. Let’s see how far back the traffic goes in Westchester.

First I had to contend with traffic on the bridge. What gives Friday afternoon at 3:45 p.m. eastbound?

The toll plaza was my starting point, and I soon saw I wasn’t to be disappointed. Passing the I-87/I-287 split, nearing Exit 1 by the Marriott — there is no Exit 2 eastbound, just saying — and continuing past Exit 3 (Sprain entrance). Coming around the bend to Exit 4, the traffic continued to Exit 5 and probably continued snaking around the edge of White Plains.

Maybe the curious wanted to see the first steel girder that arrived Wednesday. I was curious. Couldn’t see it. While the I Lift New York is no longer the new kid in town, you can see it without having to brake.

ILNY

Still, why the stop-and-go driving westbound at 2:30 p.m. during my earlier trip?

Maybe people were looking up, hoping to see the Peregrine falcon nest. Keep your eyes on the road; it’s way up on top. Project officials said it’s there (see photo).

there

Girder arrival couldn’t have been the reason it took 30 minutes to get from Exit 9 in Tarrytown to Exit 11 in Nyack. I left the crowded Thruway to take Route 59.

REMINDER: Lane closures begin at 9 p.m. (in one hour)

Tonight through tomorrow morning three southbound lanes from Exit 11 to the bridge will be closed, the first at 9 p.m., the second at 11 p.m. and the third at 11:59 p.m.; all lanes will open tomorrow by 8 a.m.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2015

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

