Who Knew Driving on the Thruway Could be Fun?

CLRamdhUkAAzSjC A friend told me there’s little-to-no bridge or Thruway traffic around 7 or 7:30 p.m.; however, I wasn’t going to take chances. I had to be in Rockland by 8 p.m. so I left my house at 6:30 p.m. (erring on the side of caution).

Curious about how long it would take to get there (meeting), I decided to have a little fun with the trip.

It was smooth sailing all the way from the Sprain to the bridge! I couldn’t believe it. By 6:45 p.m. I was driving 65 miles per hour on 287, passing Exit 1, merging with the Thruway. What?

Traffic began to build just past the bridge by Exit 10. There was some braking on the bridge yet no traffic. He was right! The number of trucks made it difficult to maneuver into lanes yet I made excellent time. It was 6:55 p.m. Hopefully these trucks will move out, or move somewhere, I told myself, or people will fan out as they find their exits.

By 7:02 p.m. I was at Exit 12. OK, a little time lost between two exits yet still way ahead of schedule. Now came the fun between Exit 12 and Exit 13N. Why don’t people learn how to merge? Be courteous, folks. You are not supposed to wrestle for a place on the road! Granted, the sun is right in your eyes and my eyes. It was starting to set, and the sky looked pretty.

Heading onto the Palisades Interstate Parkway North at 7:06 p.m., I made better time than I thought I would . . . and said goodbye to sun glare!

* * * * *

Going home was another story. I wanted to retrace the route I’d taken until I made a wrong turn and drove back to my original starting point. Lucky I found it since the road was dark, and the street signs disappeared. Roads are county routes, and many streets have only one sign, so checking signs on the corner in hopes of getting my bearings was nil.

You cannot imagine how pretty it is close up at night/EarthCam® construction camera

You cannot imagine how pretty it is close up at night/EarthCam® construction camera

I got back on the Thruway after an hour of driving, given that I had to stop twice and ask for directions.

Full disclosure: I was never so happy to see the familiar “left lane closed” arrow and other signs prior to the bridge approach span. I saw lots of glimmering lights and what looked like a sea monster. That giant crane was lit from top to bottom — even the versabar and platform — and looked almost magical. I’d not seen it at night, and even the EarthCam® construction camera view from Upper Grandview doesn’t capture the image I saw from the road.

The new gantry looks like a giant cage; I wonder how it will look lit up at night.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2015

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

