Dancing at the Wheel and Other Car Observations

Traffic? YES. Braking? YES. Fun? OMOGISH YES! Here’s what happened.

music It was difficult; however, I managed to merge onto crowded 287 from the Sprain and held on until Exit 1. Whew. Good on Route 119 until I got back onto the Thruway, well past whatever traffic was crawling my way.

Passed what used to be the police barracks and hung out in the right lane until I was able to switch lanes. Folks, the single white lines mean what the sign says: STAY IN YOUR LANE. Even without the sign, that’s what the unbroken white line means. What part of that don’t you understand?

Anyway, I was listening to Q104.3 when the intro to “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” came through my car’s speakers. I turned the sound to its loudest, opened both front windows and started dancing in my seat. The antidote to being stuck in traffic on the bridge — like today — or anywhere else is loud music. As my friend Danny used to say, “And why not?”

I glanced at drivers around me as I inched past them; some were clutching their steering wheels, most were staring ahead or talking to the person sitting next to them. Two young guys in the car to my right were rockin’ to their own music, windows open. It was nice enough outside to not use the air conditioning. Battle of the music ensued until I passed them.

No sooner had the song finished than the intro to Stephen Stills’ “Love The One You’re With” began to play. Not wanting to waste this captive audience, I started to sing along although I was no match for the artist.

* * * * *

The drive home was as much fun. I’d been listening to 101.1 FM; Elton John’s “Island Girl” intro brought me right back to my freshman year of college, when his music competed with Peter Frampton’s for dorm attention. (Which reminds me, my 40th high school reunion is in October.)

Music was blaring, and the windows were open. What could be better?

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2015

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

