New Technology: Yes for the Bridge, No in my Car

Strikingly beautiful sunset greets riders one February evening last year/ © J Rosman 2015

Strikingly beautiful sunset greets riders one February evening last year/ © J Rosman 2015

Tuesday night I went to a Board of Education meeting and heard the principal of one elementary school talk about STEAM (science, technology, engineering, art, math) learning exercises for five-year-olds.

When they grow up and start to drive they’ll appreciate the new technology in cars. I don’t and am looking for one whose dashboard will neither outshine the highway lights (tonight there were no lights in some places, only reflectors) nor blind me. Yes, yes, there’s the dashboard rheostat.

They may want to know more about the new bridge’s LED lighting — 2,700 color lights that can be programmed remotely for variable shades and 500 white lights — from Philips Lighting, the same company that brightens Madison Square Garden.

Philips said the new system, the first of its kind in the industry, will combine roadway and architectural lighting and is estimated to be 75 percent more energy-efficient than traditional lighting.

* * * * *

The odometer said eight miles when I picked it up in early August 1998. Nearing 133,000 miles, this is a terrific car.

I learned how to back up using mirrors and to get from A to B looking at street signs and asking people for directions. I know which radio buttons are set to which stations. While I appreciate technology and how it makes life easier, I don’t understand why all cars must have Bluetooth technology. Even before New York State’s 2001 law banned hand-held cell phones while driving, I found it distracting to do both.

In fact it is distracted driving.

My first car had an AM-only radio and leaky window sealant. It cost $5 to fill, which I did once a week on the way to community college. My second turned out to be a lemon bought from a school district superintendent so long ago that people might not remember. I won’t reveal it in case someone does know him. That car was a clunker!

My third car had lumbar support that wasn’t meant for the model, an added benefit. Eleven years later I sold it and got my fourth car. None had Bluetooth technology or a camera for backing up or an illuminated radio on the dashboard.

* * * * *

Kids learning about STEAM will love the newest technology in cars when they start driving. Maybe one will engineer an “older model” dashboard for people like me.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2016

2 comments so far

  1. Sara Lucas on

    Janie, this picture is breathtaking. Since I am in the car business the new technology is very fascinating to me but I can remember when it was not so complicated trying to figure out how to even start the car much less turn the radio on. We have come so far in the automotive industry and at times it would be great to go back to the simple “good ole days”. Sara

    Like

    • nykeypad on

      Thanks for reading and for your comments, Sara. I especially appreciate your thoughts since you are familiar with cars and how they’ve changed and improved during the years. Hudson Valley sunrises and sunsets are spectacular; I’ve often gone to the river in the evening to watch the sun set. Cheers, Janie

      Like


Leave a Reply

