Teams’ Spirit: Super Bowl 50 and New NY Bridge

Marty Glickman and dad

Here’s my dad with legendary sports broadcaster Marty Glickman at the old Shea Stadium. I love you, dad, and miss you so much. You patiently explained football to me, and by the end of the first quarter I’d forgotten what you said . . . not for lack of listening.

I paid attention to every word (like I did in science class yet couldn’t correlate the notes I took to the lesson plan) yet to me, the game was and always will be men in tights running away from or to each other to grab or throw the elusive football.

You’d grin at me when I told you, dad, and I knew you thought my comment was funny. I wished I understood the game as you did.

Hockey and basketball were and are my sports. That’s for another blog post.

Today is about football and fans rooting for their favorite team of men in tights running away from or to each other to grab or throw the elusive football.

This one-of-a-kind trophy was autographed by office staff, construction crews/NYSTA

This one-of-a-kind trophy was autographed by office staff, construction crews/NYSTA

No one will be throwing this football, dad, signed by the team that is building the new bridge. Maybe some of the men and women on this team wear tights (we used to call them woolies) for warmth since they’re outside in freezing weather yet have an ongoing team spirit.

I hope you enjoy the game from above, dad. Love, Janie

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2016

2 comments so far

  1. dwiedy58 on

    I was thinking of my dad on Super Bowl Sunday

    Liked by 1 person

    • nykeypad on

      Hi Don, thanks for reading. It’s a dad day. Hope your team won!

      Like


Leave a Reply

