Something Old, Something New and Missing Views

Three of the four main span towers rising via the aid of blue jump forms/© J Rosman 2016

Three of the four main span towers rising via the aid of blue jump forms/© J Rosman 2016

It’s been a few weeks since I drove across the bridge yet not so long that sights were unfamiliar. I saw the large area where the police barracks and maintenance facility used to be in Tarrytown and the overhead gantry in South Nyack.

The watercolor painting "Coming home on the Tappan Zee" /© Donna Davies Timm

The watercolor painting “Coming home on the Tappan Zee” /© Donna Davies Timm

What I noticed was the view from the bridge was gone; even as we were parallel to the river, it was blocked by blue girders. In the above painting my friend, artist Donna Davies Timm, captures a favorite view that also disappeared. When I got near the soon-to-be-gone toll plaza in Tarrytown I chose to pay cash instead of using an E-ZPass® lane. A cheerful lady took my money and returned my smile.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2016

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

