Across the River: Talk of Fares, No Bridge-park

Another familiar view has changed: approach to bridge’s main span/© Janie Rosman 2016

Another familiar view has changed: approach to bridge’s main span/© Janie Rosman 2016

It happened today. I told you I would do it, and I did.

This afternoon a friend and I spent the afternoon shopping/browsing. She hadn’t crossed the bridge in a while and neither had I so that was that.

People living at the Quay in Tarrytown might not have been happy with how close the I Lift NY was to their windows — I figure it was close to them since it loomed near the Westchester side — yet we got a great view on the way to Rockland. Coming back was even better since the super crane was facing the roadway.

Everyone I meet talks about the bridge! We were in a department store looking at Mother’s Day gifts, and I remarked it has a different layout from the same one I shop at in Westchester.

“I take the bridge to college in White Plains three times a week,” the young lady behind the counter said, and the conversation was off and running. She was happy the TAPPAN ZEExpress was a good price and said it was fun to see how much progress has been made on the new bridge.

Only a few days remain until the electronic toll gantry is activated/© Janie Rosman 2016

Only a few days remain until the electronic toll gantry is activated/© Janie Rosman 2016

“Are they going to keep the old bridge so we can have that park and walk across?” she asked.

I told her about the walking path on the new bridge and said the current bridge will be taken down so the new one can be finished and can connect to the highway. “No floating bridge-park,” I said.

We talked for a few more minutes, and my friend said she was glad there won’t be any toll increases for a few years.

“As long as my bus fare stays the same,” the college student said.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2016

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

