In Plain Sight: Batch Plant a Mystery No More

Floating concrete batch plant arrived in the summer, ready to work/© Janie Rosman 2014

Floating concrete batch plant arrived in the summer, ready to work/© Janie Rosman 2014

Every now and again I receive a notice that a floating concrete batch plant is available and ready for shipping. Am I interested? the email asks.

It’s been 18 months since the accident that necessitated Tappan Zee Constructors, LLC (TZC) to shut down one floating concrete batch plants a few months into its duties. Why did it shut down the second?

Last December, one year after that accident, the governor ruled on Freedom of Information Law (FOIL). His office reviewed each project-related FOIL request with a fine-tooth comb, sources told me as the FOIL request hit snags that were more like stone walls.

I figure this is why it took so long to find out what happened after the first plant collapsed yet both plants were shut down. I’d surmised they were built similarly, and the bridge builder knew there was a chance the second batch plant might collapse, too.

Back then I asked: Would it have been a matter of time before an identical malfunction occurred in that second batch plant so TZC took precautions if both were prepped, inspected and tested identically?

A project source told me: yes, the second crane would have malfunctioned.

What the agency gave me was five internal emails from TZC stating an incident happened, and no one was hurt. Thankfully. My FOIL request ended with a project official calling me “to tidy things up,” after which the Thruway Authority’s legal department told me it considered the matter closed.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2016

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

