TBT: Then You Didn’t See Them and Now You Do

July 2015

I loved having the road (almost) to myself early one morning last July while en route to a fundraiser swim in Clarkstown. Below is how it looked nearly two weeks ago. What you can’t see is the annoying stop-and-go westbound traffic.

June 2016

Talk of the bridge is everywhere. Tuesday I went to the eye doctor, and while I was waiting for my pupils to dilate I overheard a woman to my left speaking. My eyes were closed to block out the overhead light so she had no idea I was listening.

“I can’t see how things will be better after it’s built,” she said. “It took me an hour to get to (name’s) house the other day,” the person next to her answered. “I might wind up taking the Bear Mountain Bridge and then catching the highway. It might be easier.”

One of the two people was called into the doctor’s office. Wonder how the rest of their conversation went.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2016

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

