Multitasking: Texting on a Cell Phone & Shopping

gorgeous sky

We were warned of the rain by a darkening sky that had to be snapped even if I didn’t have my camera. Cell phone to the rescue!

* * * * *

It was the end of a shopping afternoon, and I was becoming annoyed at other people in one particularly crowded store. Several shoppers were so focused on their cell phones they nearly bumped into mom and her walker. I did my best to steer her out of their way.

Amid the “I’m sorry” and “Excuse me” apologies was my thought: why text while walking in a store, especially one with narrow aisles and close quarters due to merchandise displays? Not everyone did that: some folks blocked aisles with their carts while peering into the screens.

Two teenagers nearby kept checking their phones while shopping with their moms for dorm necessities. What was so important?

* * * * *

We looked up at the sky and saw beauty, nature and oftentimes cloud dances. I wonder if those people put down their cell phones long enough not to miss the real deal as it happened tonight instead of seeing it later in photos on their screens.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2016

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

