Pretty Soon We’ll be Driving on One of the Spans

spans

Photo above courtesy of the New York State Thruway Authority. I wonder what the man by the river in the photo below was thinking as he stared across its span.

As I wrote in an earlier blog post, dad would have been fascinated by the project and would have asked the same questions mom did.

Courtesy of the Westchester County Archives

Courtesy of the Westchester County Archives

My blog includes memories like these of our family, trips and crossing the bridge.

Mom and dad told us the bridge went towards the water, and our kid imagination went wild. We were sure we’d drive right into the Hudson River. So the first time we were on the bridge, at that crucial “going to get soaked” point, mom told us the bridge doesn’t really go into the water.

Today is two and one-half years since I got that terrible phone call. Some people tell me I’ll eventually stop counting time, and others tell me certain dates will always have significance. Wherever you are, dad, I love you and miss you very much . . . and I wish you were here to tell me the bridge went towards the water.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2016

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

