Coming Together: Looking Good from the Road

westbound-main-span-roadway

A reporter who’s covered the bridge project for nearly five years (March 2012), I’ve been invited to educational outreach presentations at various schools and community settings.

One of the events I attended was a few days ago at Hudson Valley P-TECH in Piermont. Watch for details in a separate blog post. Another was a workshop two weeks ago; I blogged about it here.

As I listened to one aspect of the construction being explained, it clicked. I take for granted driving across the bridge for work, to see friends, to take mom to Memorial Park in Nyack. Last week I chose not to bring a camera and instead looked at what was going on next to me as I drove.

For all my talk about missing the bridge, and coming home from college on weekends, knowing we were home once we saw the bridge, I’m starting to like the new structure. Must be the cables.

Before I give away the article by talking about the construction I’ll stop here. What I can tell you is the above photo is courtesy of New York State Thruway Authority.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2016

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

