A Closer Look at Art on the Bridge and Landings

Last week I walked on the trail and took pictures of the South Nyack landing and its sculpture landing through the barricades. It’s blends into and is at home on the landing.

“The artist is still there, and he’s working,” a man with a camera said, passing me as I approached the South Broadway underpass. On the other side was Chris Soria adding touches to his mural. I told him it’s beautiful, at which he turned, smiled, gave me a thumbs-up, and returned to his work.

As the path curves away from the bridge to the landing, you’ll see a sculpture that changes depending upon where you stand and creates equally-varied shadows.

You may recognize these sections of 6’ and 4’ pilings, used for the foundation and previously at the Outreach Centers. They’re just past the Tarrytown landing.

Detailed information about art on the bridge and at the landings is here. One other piece of art that got my attention was this work at the Tarrytown landing. I missed a few pieces of art and shall look for them next time.

Thank you to NYSTA crews on both landings for their help and for answering my questions about directions. Below is my shadow while taking the picture. Below is the sculpture is in-between the spur path and the Esposito Trail in South Nyack, where the Hudson Link bus driver stopped to let me off.

There are no signs in Tarrytown indicating the free shuttle bus* so I took the first bright blue bus that passed and enjoyed an air-conditioned and comfortable ride as we bypassed traffic. Yes, familiar traffic returned to the bridge.

*Later I learned it comes in-between the regularly-scheduled Hudson Link buses.

The website (click VISIT on the top menu, then FAQ from the drop-down menu) says the trip takes about 80 minutes. However, unless you walk quickly it may take longer when you factor in the heat and sun — and, of course, stopping at the six overlooks to take pictures, enjoy the views and read about Hudson Valley history.

More posts and photos to come. I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2020

No comments yet

Leave a comment