Perfect Day to walk on the newly-opened Path

It was a beautiful day for a walk across the new bridge’s path. It was also very hot, sometimes windy, and never boring during my nearly two-hour journey. I left my car at the South Nyack landing and walked to Tarrytown, stopping to take pictures of the bridge and the gorgeous river views.

The Hudson Link driver who picked me up in Tarrytown didn’t stop at the South Nyack landing so I asked him to let me out at the entrance to the Esposito Trail. I walked back to where the spur path met the bridge path and then to the landing. Probably walked more than four miles total.

Remember I wrote about practicing for this walk and that my new hip joint can do this? During the past week I walked less than a mile and a half at one time and was tired from the walk. However, today’s trip was different: the path wasn’t hard under my feet like concrete is and was only challenging at times because of the heat.

Less than one mile to the landing per the above sign! After I passed the sixth overlook and felt the bridge slope toward Tarrytown (it’s an incline westbound) I began humming the theme song from Rocky. I did it!

Of the many exciting experiences covering this project for nearly seven years, I’d say today’s walk was on par with the main span towers’ topping off ceremony and the westbound span opening.

More posts and photos to come. I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2020

No comments yet

Leave a comment