New Hip Joint and I look forward to Bridge Path

Attitude of gratitude: yesterday I was in a store and walked quickly between the aisles of clothes and other items to my destination. Then it hit me: I was walking without thinking about the artificial joint moving me forward.

This week I’m 14 months post op and continuing my shared use path training.

Last March I received a dual mobility hip joint to replace the arthritic one that was crippling me. Walking was painful, sometimes unbearable. I’d lean on walls, tables, chairs, even on my car, for balance, limping to alleviate the bone-on-bone pain. It disappeared after my brilliant and compassionate surgeon replaced the joint with an artificial one.

Part of my enthusiasm to walk along the new path when it opens comes from the anticipated thrill of seeing an unencumbered view of Hudson Valley, and part comes from joy of being able to walk those miles without wondering if the next step will bring pain.

Because of the new joint I stayed away from tugboats and missed a few Tappan Zee Bridge milestones this year, notably when its main span was lowered, when its east anchor span was carefully demolished, and last week, when its west anchor span was cut and lowered.

However, my new hip joint and I are looking forward to when the new path opens.

I’d like to know what you think.

Copyright © Janie Rosman and Kaleidoscope Eyes 2019

No comments yet

Leave a comment